This page will give you an introduction to the Assessments
In this article we will look at:
- Your Assessments overview
- Creating or editing an Assessment from the overview page
- Archiving/ Deleting assessments
Creating or Editing an Assessment from the overview page
When you login to Cirrus you can select the assessment icon Assessments on the left hand side - when move your mouse over it, it will say 'Assessments'.
Click on Assessments in the left-hand navigation panel > the ‘Assessments: overview screen’ will open:
In the Assessment overview you will only see a list of:
Assessments that you have created.
Assessments that have been shared with you by others.
Use the Filters in the left column to narrow down your list: if there are lots of assessments listed you can easily filter them. For example by selecting a specific hierarchy or you could filter the list on 'Status' to show only ‘live’ assessments.
Click on the Title of the Assessment to edit it. Information is shown and can be sorted on Title, Last Modified, Code
You can use the (extended) search to search for your assessment.
Use the 'Add-button' to start creating a new assessment in Cirrus: you will need to make a choice on the type of questions that can be selected, see our article on adding an assessment: choosing a formative, summative or mixed. You can check the box in front of any listed assessment to use the 'Delete', 'Archive' or 'Copy' buttons for the selected Assessment - Presuming your Administrator has granted you permission to do so via your Role settings.
In order to create an assessment you will need some basic ‘ingredients’ such as a set of questions to add to your assessments. This manual presumes you have successfully created questions, questions have been shared with you or relevant questions have been made available to you using hierarchies.
Assessments in Cirrus need to be linked to one or more hierarchies or clusters. These are set up and maintained by your System Administrator.
Archiving or deleting assessments
Once an Assessment has been scheduled it can no longer be deleted. Assessments that have been scheduled or even taken by candidates cannot be unpublished or deleted. This is to prevent loss of information that needs to be stored. In this case you can
Amend your assessment if required by creating a new version.
Alternatively you can Archive the assessment - archiving an assessment (paper) means it will no longer be available for scheduling. Running schedules (i.e. they have started will not be affected and still use the old assessment.